Wednesday, December 03, 2008

Ho-Hum (Not!)

Wednesday, Dec 03

Allen Wins Dirksen Award

Fresh off winning the Hume award, CQ's Jonathan Allen has won the Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Reporting on Congress by the National Press Foundation, FishbowlDC has learned.

He won for his October 1, 2007, CQ Weekly cover package, "Manifest Disparity," in which he explored the development of appropriations earmarks and the way they are doled out among Members of Congress.

John Cranford edited the piece and CQ researchers Rachel Bloom and Ryan Kelly provided a valuable assist.

The Dirksen Award was created in 1980 in honor of the renowned Republican Senate minority leader from Illinois.

The award is presented at the foundation's annual Awards Dinner on February 10, 2009. Allen is the eighth CQ reporter to receive the Dirksen Award since its inception in 1980. He joins past CQ winners John Cochran, Sue Kirchhoff, Jackie Koszczuk, George Hager, Janet Hook, Joan Biskupic and Alan Ehrenhalt. CQ has won more Dirksen Awards than any other media organization.

No comments:

Post a Comment